Message sent from:

The Curriculum at Earlsheaton Infant School

Like most other schools we use the National Curriculum to plan our lessons. The National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject. A new National Curriculum was introduced in September 2014, which is taught to children in Year One owards. Click this link to take you straight to the document:

New National Curriculum 2014

Children in Reception follow a different curriculum that sets out development goals for Early Years children. Click this link to take you straight to the document:

Development Matters

At Earlsheaton Infants we aim to teach a broad and balanced curriculum that allows our children to develop a range of talents. We teach many subjects through a blocked approach, where we teach a whole week of one subject eg Geography in addition to Maths, English and PE lessons. This allows children to make links in their learning and build a 'bigger picture' more easily. Children are encouraged to apply key skills taught in Maths and English lessons to other curriculum areas. For example they will use maths skills when taking measurements in a science investigation and will use their English report writing skills when writing it down. 

 If you have any questions about our curriculum then please see your child's class teacher.

Hit enter to search